Moooooooo

For a while now the idea of donating breast milk has appealed to me, but Bearn has not been so keen on the whole idea.

The other day was the straw on the camel’s back as they say and a friend on Facebook posted that they needed breast milk for 5 prem babies. I asked her where the babies were, but they were in Durban so that was not really an option. But the friend then said why don’t I contact some one in my area. So I have, Milk Matters.

The first thing Bearn says is will I have enough milk for Graeme, I wont be able to feed him. Of course I would have milk for Graeme, and I explain the more I pump the more milk I have – but he knows all this before I tell him.

Then he says it will cost as money because we have to use our expensive bags – no we use their bottles which are dropped off (so no petrol too.

I need a HIV and Hep C/ B ( can’t remember which) “Ah ha, we have to pay for the blood work.” Bearn stated triumphantly. That went out the window too as they will pay as long as you have their form with you.

So I have now started collecting milk for them, it feels good to be able to help others in some way. Especially since I cant donate blood because I am breast feeding. A good middle ground. (Still don’t know why Bearn is not do keen on the whole idea.)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mandy
    Oct 01, 2010 @ 14:20:21

    So glad you have started donating to Milk Matters. I went through the process earlier this year and got the bottles dropped off and everything and then couldn’t find any time to express between looking after the 2 kids. And then shortly after that fell pregnant with number 3 so its put things on hold for a bit. How are you finding it? I’ve only expressed milk for my own kids a handful of times so it took me a while (a long while) to hand pump just 50 mls. I think next year after the baba is born I will invest in an electric pump, will probably make life a lot easier!

    Reply

    • mommystoes
      Oct 01, 2010 @ 14:43:58

      We bought the Electric pump, cant imagine doing it by hand. I have managed to create a feed at 10pm and get about 120mls. The woman is coming to collect the first batch next week.

      But to be honest I still am not a huge fan of expressing, as I said makes me feel like a real cow. But its for a good cause.

      But with regards to donating its taken me quite a while to collect what i have as G comes first, so I am not keen on affecting his supply.

      Reply

  2. Mandy
    Oct 01, 2010 @ 15:44:52

    I meant manual pump, not hand pump, although it sometimes felt like by hand would have been easier! I think if I am tandem nursing Eva and the new baba, I will probably wait until Eva is weaned before donating. Although a healthy well-nourished mama can nurse up to four kids, I think 2 will probably be my personal limit.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

