The power of one.

The power of one – Bryce Courtney

I will be adding this book to the 100 books list as I feel it deserves a  place there.

The story is about a young, white, English boy living in south Africa in the 1940s and ’50s. He is nursed for the first few years of his life by his black nanny. When he is 5 his mother suffers a mental breakdown so he is forced to go to an Afrikaans boarding school. He is taught many hard life lessons here. His Grandfather’s chickens all die from a disease, so his family is forced to move to a town.

When he leaves boarding school to go to the town, he meets up with a man on the train who instills in him the love for boxing. It is then he decides he will be come the Welterweight boxing champion of the world.

The book then follows him on his journey to achieve this goal. From boxing at a prison to how he gets a scholarship to a Private white school in Sandton.

I thought this book was amazing. It made me laugh and cry, and left me with a such an awesome feeling of hope.

I would like to read his other books, but I have heard they are not as good as this one. So that will be done after my 100 books.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. isufferfromfms
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 13:20:40

    One of my personal favourites. I read it in High School. I took it out of the library as a challenge because it was such a thick book. It took me ages to finish but I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Reply

    • mommystoes
      Jan 18, 2011 @ 15:38:38

      Fast becoming one of my favourites.
      But not the book you read when you need a pick-me-up. Made me cry too often, although it was very heart warming at the same time.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

