I would never…

As you do before you have a child of your own you judge parents for how they deal with their kids. I know I had many preconceived ideas. There were many things I would and would not do with my child. I probably have many more of these notions that I will go against.

Some of my set in stone ideas I had before Graeme:

  • I would only breast feed until 3 months, was the idea before I fell pregnant. Then while pregnant I heard all the benefits so it moved to 6 months. Then once I started I loved it so moved it to a year. I only stopped at 14 months.
  • I would use toweling nappies. This one I really did have goo intentions with and I gave it a good go. I had about 40 toweling squares and all the junk that goes with clothe nappies. But Graeme has skinny legs and every time he did any thing in the nappy it leaked. My failed clothe nappy attempt.  
  • I would never co-sleep. Lets just say I found it easier to breastfeed in my sleep and he is still in the bed half the night.
  • My child would never eat junk. He does enjoy his occasional packet of flings.
I am sure there are many more… 
What set in stone ideas changed once you had a child?
3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. colourgiggles
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 10:29:33

    ha ha, I remember saying that I would never let my monkey’s routine interfere with our daily lives… how wrong was I!!!

    Reply

  2. theresa plummer
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 16:07:22

    My one notion was that we would all have Sunday lunch together , and every holiday , but life is not how I planned!

    Reply

  3. Robyn
    Nov 24, 2011 @ 09:26:19

    I have done MANY things that I swore I would never do. Some dangerous things even, just to keep sane sometimes! Your list isn’t HALF as bad as mine 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

