I miss my Daddy

I am not writting this as a pity party post. I have been missing my dad for the past week or so, more than normal and thought I would share a bit about him. I have not previously shared information on him as I feel that people judge me according to that. But I am finding now that he is dead it does not happen as often.

My father was diagnosed with Parkinson’s Disease when he was 27, but they think he had it for about a year before that (that making me a year old). I knew no other, but I did not see him as any different to any one else’s dad. He used to take his pink and yellow pills to control the shaking. Over the years the disease took its natural progression, but no doctor could tell what exactly would happen as they had not dealt with some one as young as my dad, Parkinson’s being an old person’s disease and all.

In 2009 he passed away after getting incredibly weak, my mom took him to the hospital where the doctor said he probably would not make it the night. He did. The next day I even gave him chocolate, which the nurses weren’t to happy about, but he was ever so chuffed. He passed away that night at about 12:10am. On our way to the hospital the song “In the arms of an angel” came on the radio.

I wish Graeme could have met him with his sick sense of humour. Although I get the feeling he may have nick named Graeme ‘Return’ as he did all the pets I brought home. Well those he really did want returned.

I have my Mom’s old phone as a spare and since my phone is on the blink I am using it. I found photo’s of my dad on there that my mom had taken, when I showed Graeme these photos his whole face lit up with a smile. Makes my heart do little butterflies.

This is my favourite photo!

If I have the guts to do more posts on him I will, Just not in one go.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TJ
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 18:02:31

    I can’t imagine what it must be like loosing a parent. But at least we have special memories to cherish forever – even when those memories trigger emotions.

    Reply

  2. To Love Bella
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 06:39:37

    So sorry Bron. I cannot begin to imagine how you must be feeling. So I’m sending you a very, very tight cyber hug.
    xooxox

    Reply

  3. rememberlessons
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 09:01:34

    Go and have a bath and you will feel much better !

    Reply

  4. cat@juggling act
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 22:24:45

    Lots of love girl! I lost my dad when I was 7 and have very few real memories

    Reply

  5. Because the Voices Told me So
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 08:54:59

    I know your pain…and you are always welcome on my shoulder 🙂
    xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

