The funny and the sad.

On Saturday I had 2 birthday parties scheduled. Off I go to the first which was in the Northern Suburbs, so about a 30 minute drive from me.

Starting on the sad. Just as I am leaving town there is a little beggar boy at the robot. I had bought Graeme a packet of biscuits and left them in the chubby hole for when ever he needed silencing. I figured this child needed them a lot more than Graeme did, and its not like Graeme would even know they are gone. I waved the pack at him to come get them, as he got closer I could see all his ribs through the extra stretched neck hole of his t-shirt. He walked away eating the biscuits like he had not eaten in days and this was his first ‘meal’. This broke my heart, I literally had tears running down my face. Here I was driving to parties with presents in the boot when this kid was starving. I know I can’t save the world, just pulled on a nerve – I can do my little bit though. I did pop a mini mention to Graeme that he must be grateful for what he has. 

Driving on I got over my moment and headed to the first party and then on to the funny. Pull into the street and see all the balloons and little kids going in, don’t know any of them, but figure they must be from school. Note I have been to the house before. I see they have changed the front of the house, the garden. Oh I would also like to add that all the houses in this street look exactly the same. I go in and at the front door I am greated by an Afrikaans man who lets me in, I thought this a bit odd. Once inside I look around and the whole house has changed, as in even the furniture. I look over at a baby picture on the wall and its not Casandra. Then a Lady comes up to me, and Asks what my little boy’s name is. Then says we dont know any Graeme’s. I quickly said sorry and walked out the door.  And went 13 houses up. Sigh. 

Graeme at the correct party down the road. Can you guess the theme. 

Leave a Reply

